A social media post about Oreo biscuits being non-Halal (haram) due to the presence of alcohol and lard derivatives went viral recently, causing the Abu Dhabi Agriculture and Food Safety Authority (Adafsa) to issue a clarification. The Halal Times had already discussed the issue in detail in an earlier post about the controversy and why it was considered Halal.
ADAFSA stated that there is no evidence to support the claim and explained that many food products, including Oreo biscuits, can contain small percentages of ethanol as a result of natural fermentation during processing, which is normal and compliant with UAE standards.
ADAFSA confirms that Oreo biscuits meet the “limits, ratios and controls” specified in the UAE standard.
Related reading: What Is Halal? What the Quran and Hadith Say, and How It Works Today | Are Biscuits Halal? How to Choose Halal-Friendly Biscuit Brands




