Proctor & Gamble has informed MCG that all Downy liquid fabric softeners are made with pork and non-zabiha beef fat. They are not free of animal by-products. So, they should not be considered Halal by any means.
But, there is another dimension to the story as well. According to islamweb.net, “If the pig fat is treated until it is totally transformed to another substance and it is then added to the liquid that you mentioned in the question, then, according to the preponderant view of the scholars, it becomes permissible to use because its transformation renders it pure”.
The web also goes on to say, “if the pig fat is put in that liquid before its change (i.e. before it is transformed), then it is impure, and if clothes are washed with it, it does render them impure”.
“If this is the case, then you must avoid using this liquid for washing the garment in which you perform the prayer because it renders it impure. It is known that the prayer is not valid in an impure garment while one is aware of that and able to change it. [i.e. to perform the prayer with another garment]”.
The viewers of this website can use their own discretion on whether they should use these products.
India Made Product AppFiz is Mushbooh
This is an Indian product. AppFiz is a carbonated apple juice product manufactured by Parle Agro. These are ingredients of AppFiz in India:
Reconstituted Apple Juice
Permitted (Class II) Preservatives (E211 Sodium Sulphite, E224 Potassium Metabisulphite)
Excluding Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients
If no pork or beef gelatin was used during processing of reconstituting apple juice and no Haram hidden ingredients are used and if it has a green dot on the package then it can be considered as Halal
Dairy Queen Products are not Halal
MCG has reconfirmed with Dairy Queen with reference number 668077 dated June 11, 2014, that they do not use kosher certified ingredients. Each franchise buys its own raw material from different suppliers.
MCG considered all Dairy Queen products as not Halal
Thank you for contacting International Dairy Queen, Inc. (IDQ) with your request for information regarding Dairy Queen® products that are certified Kosher.
The products, including Dairy Queen soft serve, sold in Dairy Queen restaurants come from a variety of vendors. For this reason, IDQ is unable to guarantee that any product sold within the Dairy Queen system is Kosher certified.
As you may already know, most Dairy Queen restaurants are independently owned and operated franchises. As such, any decision to obtain Kosher certification is made by the independent franchise owner/operator of each Dairy Queen restaurant. IDQ recommends that you contact the Dairy Queen restaurants you frequently patronize and inquire whether their facility has been certified Kosher or if their products are Kosher certified.