The term “Halal” comes from the Arabic word “حلال” ( ḥalāl ) which means “permissible”. The Quran classifies food and goods into different categories such as “Halal” (permitted)or “haram” (forbidden). For a product to be Halal certified, an independent Halal certification body must certify that the product in question strictly follows the conditions to be certified as such. The product must be from an acceptable source such as cow, chicken, and sheep which were slaughtered according to the prescribed Islamic principles.
Halal certification of a product guarantees that it is devoid of any impermissible ingredients and that it has been processed in a facility that is conducive to maintaining the integrity of the Halal status. Ingredients such as alcohol, pork, and other animal derivatives are major red flags and can never be termed Halal.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.