The recent emergence of trillions of cicadas has prompted much discussion in the past few weeks. The topics vary from the sounds they make, to the planes they divert, to the protein they provide as a food source.
In reality, most of us who eat yogurt, ice cream, canned fruit, bread or cupcakes have already been consuming insects. Carmine is a substance made out of crushed insects called cochineal. It is added to many processed foods and beverages as a red food coloring.
Halal with conditions
According to scholars it is Halal to eat certain insects under certain conditions:
- Locusts and grasshoppers are Halal to consume.
- If a bug fell in your soup or stew, you can still eat your meal with a tiny amount of insect in it.
- If people do not have access to food and insects are available for consumption, it is permissible to eat insects for survival.

Minimize Your Risk
There are some risks to consuming insects as a food or ingredient. The risks depend on the species, what they consume, and their environment. In addition, how and where they are harvested and cooked may increase or decrease health risks. Some health risks include the presence of microorganisms like bacteria, pesticides and harmful chemicals. It is very important to have proper processing methods for food safety.
ISA can certify the processing and handling of insects as food ingredients for halal compliance.
“Bon Appetit!”
Related reading: Is Cochineal Coloring in Drinks Halal or Haram? | What Are the 10 Haram Foods That Muslims Think Are Halal?
Help Us Empower Muslim Voices!
Every donation, big or small, helps us grow and deliver stories that matter. Click below to support The Halal Times.


Celebrating Eid al Adha with Halal meat
Leave a Reply